Anorak

Anorak | Liverpool Balls: Only Reports On Merseyside Say Suarez Didn’t Dive

Liverpool Balls: Only Reports On Merseyside Say Suarez Didn’t Dive

by | 18th, January 2014

PA 18724062 Liverpool Balls: Only Reports On Merseyside Say Suarez Didnt Dive

Press Association: Liverpool’s Luis Suarez smiles after being brought down by Aston Villa goalkeeper Brad Guzan to earn his side a penalty

DID Liverpool’s Luis Suarez dive to win the penalty – one converted to give the Reds a 2-2 draw with Aston Villa? Let’s see what the local newspapers said:

The Birmingham Mail’s Mat Kendrick reports:

Moments later Liverpool were level. Suarez chased down a long ball from Gerrard, getting there ahead of Guzan, who was penalised for the foul despite a strong suspicion of a dive and Liverpool’s captain’s afternoon improved when he calmly tucked away the spot-kick.

Over in the Liverpool Post, the report makes no mention of a dive. The report doesn’t even mention that Suarez won the spot kick.

However, a fine finish from Daniel Sturridge on the stroke of half-time sparked a stirring comeback which, with Gerrard pushed further forward, was capped by the captain converting coolly from the spot on 53 minutes.

What about the nationals?

The Sun wants to sell newspapers on Merseyside:

“He [Suarez] was simply canny enough to make sure there was contact and Gerrard ignored all the fuss to drill in the penalty.”

Canny? Is that a euphemism?

Jim White in the Telegraph nails Suarez:

Luis Suárez’s cunning in the penalty area rescued a point to keep Liverpool in the top four of the Premier League. With his side trailing to a game Aston Villa, in the 52nd minute Suárez galloped into the box in pursuit of an over hit forward pass from Steven Gerrard. As Villa’s keeper Brad Guzan advanced, Suárez flicked the ball beyond his dive and everyone in the stadium knew what was coming next. There was the slightest of contact and the Uruguayan ensured a positive outcome with the kind of exaggerated tumble that would earn him maximum points on Tom Daley’s Splash.

A dive, then?

David Maddock in the Mirror says Suarea has from. That shapes his report and view of the incident:

The more you see that penalty, the shakier it looks.

Paul Wilson, in The Guardian shares those feelings:

Suárez touched the ball past Guzan from Steven Gerrard’s inspired pass and the goalkeeper brought him down. That is what the referee decided in any case. Contact appeared to be minimal but the goalkeeper sold himself and Suárez knows what to do in those situations. Gerrard calmly stroked the ball into the bottom corner.

Such are the facts…



Posted: 18th, January 2014 | In: Liverpool, Sports Comments (3) | Follow the Comments on our RSS feed: RSS 2.0 | TrackBack | Permalink