Anorak

Anorak News | Media balls: diving Dele Alli’s dying swan routine gives Spurs victory

Media balls: diving Dele Alli’s dying swan routine gives Spurs victory

by | 5th, December 2016

“Pochettino defends Alli’s diving,” says the Times in its report on Spurs’ 5-0 hammering of Swansea City. The first goal came from the penalty spot after Tottenham’s Dele Alli fell to the ground. Elsewhere in the paper, former referee Howard Webb tells readers: “It was a dive and Dele Alli needs to be careful he doesn’t get a reputation.”

Spurs’ Argentinean manager Mauricio Pochettino was invited to consider the incident. Did Alli dive?

Pochettino recalls the time England’s Michael Owen collapsed under his challenge at the World Cup. “David Beckham scored the resulting penalty, effectively ending Argentina’s tournament and, in turn, Pochettino’s international career,” says the Times. “Don’t believe that English football is fair play always because Owen jumped like [he was] in a swimming pool,” Pochettino tells us. “Maybe he [Alli] will say, ‘OK I fell down but I didn’t mean to dive but the referee believed it was a penalty,’ or it wasn’t his intention.”

An accidental dive is a nice take on the non-denial denial.

Lest you think Swansea would have lost anyhow, the paper says the penalty was the game’s defining moment: “The penalty effectively ended Swansea’s afternoon. For the first 39 minutes, they had held on with all they had, but after going behind they crumbled.”

Does everyone agree with the Times and think Alli dived? The Spurs website says Alli was fouled:

Dele latched onto a ball down the left-hand side of the area and was clipped by Naughton, with referee Jon Moss pointing the spot after a moment of consideration.

The Swansea website says:

The Swans were level at the Lane until Spurs won a highly contentious penalty

The South Wales Evening Post – Swansea’s local newspaper – tells its readers:

Stuart Pearce – ‘No doubt in my mind Dele Alli dived for controversial penalty against Swansea City’

The paper’s match report is clear:

The game was goalless when Dele Alli induced referee Jon Moss into giving a penalty when the Spurs midfielder appeared to go over with no contact from Kyle Naughton.

The Tottenham Independent saw contact:

Spurs finally took the lead on 38 minutes. Kyle Naughton caught Deli Alli’s [sic] trailing leg in the box and referee Jonathan Moss awarded a penalty.

Such are the facts in the biased media.



Posted: 5th, December 2016 | In: Back pages, Sports, Spurs Comments (3) | TrackBack | Permalink