Anorak News | Hillsborough: Scottish Socialist Party Says Not To Forget The “86”

Hillsborough: Scottish Socialist Party Says Not To Forget The “86”

by | 16th, April 2010

HILLSBOROUGH has been remembered. The 96 victims and the survivors of that day are not forgottten. And the Scottish Socialist Party issues an opportunistic press release asking polticians not to forget the “86”.

“Scottish Socialist Party leader Colin Fox, former Lothians MSP, today called on campaigning politicans across the UK to respect the 21st anniversary of the Hillsborough Disaster in which 86 Liverpool FC supporters died.

Colin Fox, who is contesting the Edinburgh South East for the SSP against Labour Chancellor Alistair Darling, said: “On the 21st anniversary of the Hillsborough disaster I hope that politicians of all parties take time out from campaigning to remember the 86 Liverpool FC fans who died 21 years ago today.

“My best wishes and solidarity go out on this anniversasry to the campaign for justice for the 86.”

Anyone have the orginal press release?


Picture 1 of 48

This picture may only be used within the context of the Hillsborough court case. An undated file showing the tunnel at the Leppings Lane end of Sheffield Wednesday's Hillsborough ground, shown to the jury at Leeds Crown Court. * a private prosecution brought by the Hillsborough Family Support Group. Match commander Chief Superintendent David Duckenfield and Superintendent Bernard Murray deny the manslaughter of two of the victims of the disaster at the FA Cup Semi-Final between Liverpool and Nottingham Forest at Sheffield Wednesday's ground on April 15, 1989.

The 96:

John Alfred Anderson, 62

Colin Mark Ashcroft, 19

James Gary Aspinall, 18

Kester Roger Marcus Ball, 16

Gerard Bernard Patrick Baron, 67

Simon Bell,17

Barry Sidney Bennett, 26

David John Benson, 22

David William Birtle, 22

Tony Bland, 22

Paul David Brady, 21

Andrew Mark Brookes, 26

Carl Brown, 18

David Steven Brown, 25

Henry Thomas Burke, 47

Peter Andrew Burkett, 24

Paul William Carlile, 19

Raymond Thomas Chapman, 50

Gary Christopher Church, 19

Joseph Clark, 29

Paul Clark, 18

Gary Collins, 22

Stephen Paul Copoc, 20

Tracey Elizabeth Cox, 23

James Philip Delaney, 19

Christopher Barry Devonside, 18

Christopher Edwards, 29

Vincent Michael Fitzsimmons, 34

Thomas Steven Fox, 21

Jon-Paul Gilhooley, 10

Barry Glover, 27

Ian Thomas Glover, 20

Derrick George Godwin, 24

Roy Harry Hamilton, 34

Philip Hammond, 14

Eric Hankin, 33

Gary Harrison, 27

Stephen Francis Harrison, 31

Peter Andrew Harrison, 15

David Hawley, 39

James Robert Hennessy, 29

Paul Anthony Hewitson, 26

Carl Darren Hewitt, 17

Nicholas Michael Hewitt, 16

Sarah Louise Hicks, 19

Victoria Jane Hicks, 15

Gordon Rodney Horn, 20

Arthur Horrocks, 41

Thomas Howard, 39

Thomas Anthony Howard, 14

Eric George Hughes, 42

Alan Johnston, 29

Christine Anne Jones, 27

Gary Philip Jones, 18

Richard Jones, 25

Nicholas Peter Joynes, 27

Anthony Peter Kelly, 29

Michael David Kelly, 38

Carl David Lewis, 18

David William Mather, 19

Brian Christopher Mathews, 38

Francis Joseph McAllister, 27

John McBrien, 18

Marion Hazel McCabe, 21

Joseph Daniel McCarthy, 21

Peter McDonnell, 21

Alan McGlone, 28

Keith McGrath, 17

Paul Brian Murray, 14

Lee Nicol, 14

Stephen Francis O’Neill, 17

Jonathon Owens, 18

William Roy Pemberton, 23

Carl William Rimmer, 21

David George Rimmer, 38

Graham John Roberts, 24

Steven Joseph Robinson, 17

Henry Charles Rogers, 17

Colin Andrew Hugh

William Sefton, 23

Inger Shah, 38

Paula Ann Smith, 26

Adam Edward Spearritt, 14

Philip John Steele, 15

David Leonard Thomas, 23

Patrik John Thompson, 35

Peter Reuben Thompson, 30

Stuart Paul William Thompson, 17

Peter Francis Tootle, 21

Christopher James Traynor, 26

Martin Kevin Traynor, 16

Kevin Tyrrell, 15

Colin Wafer, 19

Ian David Whelan, 19

Martin Kenneth Wild, 29

Kevin Daniel Williams, 15

Graham John Wright, 17


Posted: 16th, April 2010 | In: Reviews Comment | TrackBack | Permalink